Whisky, Whisky, Whisky


We pick up in New York City, I’m trying to find the man I never got to be

But when I push down on the pavement, I find the whole thing so much harder than it seems

The only deal I ever signed, no devil drew a dotted line…the stage was set, the words were mine

I’m not complaining

Whisky, whisky, whisky
Water, water, water…sleep

Whisky, whisky, whisky
Wake up shake it off and repeat

It’s just a phase, its not forever
It’s just a phase, but I still might a ways to go

Every night around this time, my friends and I we treat it like a race

But when I really start to break it down, I wouldn’t trust a girl who knew about this place

Walking home with no one left
Speak softly underneath my breath
“Hey world you ain’t seen nothing yet”

Great, now it’s raining

Whisky, whisky, whisky
Water, water, water…..sleep

Whisky, whisky, whisky
Wake up shake it off and repeat

It’s just a phase, its not forever
It’s just a phase, but I still might a ways to go….

– J. Mayer

*************************

It’s just a phase, its not forever

But a lot of phases can determine what your forever becomes

– Andreá Fellini 

Leave a Reply

