Goodbye Hollywood


O, how much I’ve toiled
O, how much I’ve scrapped your soil

How much of my sweat have you trickled
Days, nights, til my cells go sickle

O, How much of me have you whisked away
My dreams left at every audition stair

O, how much my sincerity has cost me
How so, my clouds have remain frosty

All of my Meryl have been Streeped for you
All of my ego, crushed

Every line rehearsed, just to lip for you
But no chance, my blue eyes, flushed.

How many times have I yelled in frustration,
How much bills have I paid,

How many lines have I refused participation,
How much beds I refuse to lay.

It’s clear you never saw me, even though you are all I see
It’s clear this wasn’t my shine, even though I whitened my teeth

It’s now I summon my courage, to return home to Kansas
For you have sucked all my zodiac, only left, is cancer.

O Hollywood

I wish you did,
I wish you done,
I wish you do.
I wish you will someday remember me, Courtney Hugh

Until then,

Goodbye Hollywood.

8 thoughts on “Goodbye Hollywood

    • Thanks Pete. Courtney Hugh transcends every person with a broken dream. Dreams in Such places like Hollywood where ‘hard work’ and ‘luck’ are in a constant battle. I may read it someday, been a while since I read

  1. That was so awesome! I felt your words and their meaning were personal to me and my thoughts probably had nothing to do with what you were talking about! Now that’s true art…personal interpretation to a specific message

Leave a Reply

